Advocacy & News

Medical Rehabilitation Leaders Welcomed as New Members to AMRPA Board of Directors

Medical Rehabilitation Leaders Welcomed as New Members to AMRPA Board of Directors

(WASHINGTON – October 20, 2020) – The American Medical Rehabilitation Providers Association (AMRPA) recently announced a number of departures, new members and position changes to its Board of Directors, effective as of January 1, 2021. The announcement was made on the final day of the association’s Fall Educational Conference & Expo, which drew in the virtual attendance of hundreds of medical rehabilitation professionals from around the country.

Incoming board members are Rhonda Abbott, vice president of operations and chief operating officer, TIRR Memorial Hermann; Bob Bianchi, senior vice president of strategy and innovation, ClearSky Health and Rehabilitation Hospital; and Dr. Matt Gibson, president and CEO, Siskin Hospital for Physical Rehabilitation.

They will be led by the AMRPA Executive Committee comprised of Board Chair Dr. Robert Krug, Mount Sinai Rehabilitation Hospital Medical Director, PM&R Service Line; Immediate Past Chair Dr. Richard Kathrins, Bacharach Institute for Rehabilitation; Vice Chair Anthony Cuzzola, JFK Johnson Rehabilitation Institute; Members at Large Gregg Stanley, HCA, and Chris Lee, Madonna Rehabilitation Hospital; Treasurer David Storto, Partners Continuing Care and Spaulding Rehabilitation Network; and Secretary Mark Tarr, Encompass Health.

In introducing the new board during the association’s conference earlier this month, Dr. Krug said, “One of the things that sets AMRPA apart from other associations is the close involvement of the board in just about everything we do, and that’s all the more remarkable given that our board is composed of some of the most prominent hospital leaders in the country. Their dedication to AMRPA is incredibly valued by myself, our staff and our members, and I thank them all for their leadership during such a challenging year.”

The incoming members will join current board members Doug Baer, Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital; Dr. Felice Loverso, Casa Colina Hospital and Centers for Healthcare; John Rockwood, National Rehabilitation Hospital; Suzanne Snyder Kauserud, Carolina Rehabilitation; Dr. Karl J. Sandin; Arroyo Grande Rehabilitation and Creighton University School of Medicine; Russ Bailey, Kindred Hospital Rehabilitation Services; Anne Marie McDonough, North Shore/Staten Island University Hospital; Michael Long, Vibra Healthcare; Dr. Alberto Esquenazi, MossRehab; Kent Riddle, Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital; Jeffrey Ruskan, Select Medical; Dr. Sandeep Singh, Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Hospital; Patricia Jobbitt, Rehabilitation Institute of Michigan; and Emeritus Members Dr. Mary Beth Walsh, Special Assistant to the President for Policy and Advocacy, Burke Rehabilitation Hospital; Dr. Kathy Yosko and Dr. William Restum, Rehabilitation Institute of Michigan.

Ending their tenure as AMRPA board members at the beginning of next year are Chip Eisenman, CEO, Sunnyview Rehabilitation Hospital; and Jerry Ashworth, Senior Vice President and CEO, Memorial Hermann Katy and Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospitals.

View the full list of the current AMRPA Board of Directors on the association’s website.

For media inquiries, please contact:

Adam Robertson
Marketing Communications Manager
American Medical Rehabilitation Providers Association
(815) 901-2632 | [email protected]